Prince George’s County DUI Lawyer

Driving under the influence, referred to as DUI, of alcohol or a controlled substance is against the law in Prince George’s County. In general, it is illegal to drive while impaired (DWI). A Prince George’s County DUI lawyer could provide legal representation and assistance for individuals facing either DUI or DWI charges.

The penalties for DUI convictions are more severe than those for DWI convictions. A DUI lawyer could potentially help you fight for a reduction in penalties even if you have already been convicted of a DUI. It is best to seek legal representation from a DUI attorney to achieve the best possible legal outcome in your situation.

Differentiating Between DUIs and DWIs

Maryland’s impaired driving laws differentiate between two types of impaired driving: driving while impaired (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI). A person can be charged with and convicted of driving while impaired or under the influence of alcohol or a controlled dangerous substance. When alcohol is involved, the difference between a DWI and a DUI is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of between 0.06% and 0.08% for a DWI and a BAC of 0.08% or higher for a DUI.

Penalties for DUI Convictions in Prince George’s County

The penalties for DUI convictions in Prince George’s County can include imprisonment, fines, suspension or loss of license, points assessed on the driving record, the mandatory use of an ignition interlock device, and required participation in a substance abuse treatment program. The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration outlines the specific penalties for DUI and DWI convictions. The penalties for DUI convictions are generally more severe than those associated with convictions for DWI.

The penalties for DUI convictions include a maximum jail sentence of one year and a $1,000 fine for a first offense, as well as revocation of the driver’s license for six months with 12 points added to the driving record. Second or subsequent convictions could result in a prison term of up to two years and a $2,000 fine, as well as revocation of the driver’s license for one year with 12 points added to the driving record. Additionally, sanctions could also include the mandatory use of an ignition interlock device, as well as participation in an alcohol abuse program.

Penalties for DWI Convictions in Prince George’s County

The penalties for DWI convictions in Prince George’s County are less severe than those for DUI convictions but increase in severity with subsequent convictions. The penalties for a first DWI conviction include a term of imprisonment of up to two months and a $500 fine. Additionally, the driver’s license could be suspended for six months, or one year for drivers who are under 21 years of age, and eight points will accumulate on the driving record.

The penalties for a second DWI conviction include a term of imprisonment of up to one year and a $500 fine. Additionally, eight points will be added to the driving record, and the driver’s license could be suspended for between nine to twelve months, or two years for drivers under 21 years of age. A DUI attorney in Prince George’s County could explain the possible penalties for third or subsequent DWI convictions.

Contact a Prince George’s County DUI Attorney Today

It is to your advantage to obtain professional legal assistance if you have been charged with driving while impaired. A Prince George’s County DUI lawyer could help you fight for reduced criminal penalties and driver’s license sanctions. Trying to deal with a DUI on your own can make it more difficult to achieve the result you want.

You have the best chance of obtaining an optimal legal result with the help of an attorney. Contact a Prince George’s County DUI attorney for assistance with your DUI case today.

Prince George’s County Criminal Lawyer