Leesburg Gun Lawyer

Virginia has very specific laws regarding who may legally own and carry a firearm, as well as circumstances in which firing or carrying a gun is illegal. If someone is convicted of violating the state’s gun laws, they may face grave penalties and criminal sanctions.

If you or a loved one has been charged with a firearm-related offense, consult a Leesburg gun lawyer right away. A dedicated criminal attorney could explain the potential legal consequences surrounding your charges and give your case the attention it deserves.

Laws Concerning Gun Ownership

State law bars convicted felons or individuals who have committed violent crimes from owning a firearm. Under Code of Virginia § 18.2-279, it is also illegal to fire a gun inside a structure or residence. Those who do so risk being charged with a felony offense.

With the exception of individuals such as law enforcement, it is not legally acceptable to fire a gun in an area that is open to the public. If someone purposely fires a gun from a car and puts the safety of others in question or causes others to fear for their wellbeing, the individual could face felony charges.

Concealed Carry Laws

Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308 outlines the exclusions and legal punishments for the concealed carrying of firearms and other weapons. It is unlawful for anyone to transport a concealed firearm without an authentic carry permit. Persons who are carrying a firearm en route to a firing range, are on their own land, or place of business are excluded from this requirement.

Individuals who are awaiting adjudication of specific criminal charges, are younger than 21 years of age, or who are barred from owning a firearm because they have been convicted of certain crimes may not obtain a concealed carry permit. A local attorney could help someone accused of a gun crime better understand the complex laws surrounding the ownership and use of firearms.

Penalties for Violating Leesburg Gun Laws

The penalties imposed for a gun violation depend on whether the criminal act is categorized as a misdemeanor or felony offense. For example, violation of the state’s concealed carry laws is charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor for the first offense, but elevated to a Class 6 felony for the second offense.

A Class 1 misdemeanor conviction is punished by up to $2,500 in fines and one year of imprisonment. For a Class 6 felony conviction, the period of incarceration can be extended to five years.

A person could be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor for carrying a gun into a place of worship or courthouse, or the airport. For pointing or wielding a gun on the premises of a school, the individual could face Class 6 felony penalties.

Harsher Penalties for Class 4 and 5 Felony Offenses

If someone is charged and convicted of firing a gun into a structure leading to someone’s death, they could be charged with a felony. The alleged offender may be charged with a Class 5 felony and face up to 10 years in jail if they did not intend to harm anyone. If person who was charged had ill intent, they could face Class 4 felony penalties.

An experienced gun lawyer in the area could work to reduce the penalties associated with a particular gun charge.

Get in Touch With a Leesburg Gun Attorney

If you have been charged with a gun offense, you may need to contact a Leesburg gun lawyer as soon as possible. Hiring a seasoned illegal firearms attorney could maximize your chances of achieving a favorable verdict.

The legal professional at our firm could walk alongside you at all stages of the criminal process. Call to schedule your consultation today.