Understanding The Ins And Outs Of DUI Laws In Maryland

Drunk driving charges can have a serious impact on accused individuals. It is helpful for those facing DUI/DWI charges to be familiar with the drunk driving laws in Maryland, including blood alcohol content level limits; the administrative penalties associated with drunk driving charges; and other considerations.

There are two different types of drunk driving charges in Maryland. The first, driving under the influence, is charged when the accused individual has a blood alcohol concentration level of .08 or above. Driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs is considered a less severe crime that is charged if the accused individual has a blood alcohol content level of .07 or below. There are legal technicalities and complexities associated with these designations and it is helpful for accused individuals to be aware of them.

Punishments for drunk driving charges in Maryland can also fall into two different categories, including criminal penalties and administrative penalties and consequences. Possible jail time can range from up to one year for the first DUI offense; up to two years for the second DUI offense with a mandatory minimum of five days in jail; and up to three years for a third DUI offense. In addition, fines can range from $1,000 for a first DUI offense to $2,000 for a second DUI offense and $3,000 for a third DUI offense.

Additional penalties and consequences may apply in certain circumstances. There are a variety of criminal defense approaches to drunk driving charges in Maryland, which makes it so important for accused individuals to be familiar with what they are to help potentially mitigate the impact of a DUI charge.