Florida DUI Lawyer

At first glance, it may seem like the process for handling a DUI charge is the same across all the United States. After all, every state has the same legal limit of 0.08 blood alcohol content (BAC). Unfortunately, this thinking can lead to many legal problems. Legal procedures can vary from state to state, and having the knowledge of the fine details can be the difference between a conviction and an acquittal. Losing a DUI charge can have serious consequences, and a conviction is permanently on your record that cannot be expunged. A Florida DUI Lawyer could help those charged to defend their rights and use their expertise to find the best resolution of their charges.

When you or a loved one are facing charges for driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you should get in touch with a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.

Sentences for DUI Have Both Mandatory & Discretionary Parts

An arrest for DUI is becoming more common, 1 out of every 100 arrests is for a DUI charge. This may be why more and more states have increased the penalties for DUI convictions. The State of Florida sets its punishment for DUI offenses based on several factors such as previous convictions, BAC level, and the age of passengers. For those convicted for their first time, the fine can range between $500 and $2,000. Aggravating factors including a BAC above 0.15 or a minor as a passenger can lead to a more hefty fine. Most DUI convictions are misdemeanors unless the DUI involves serious injury or death, which will turn it into a felony. Also, any DUI after the third conviction is a felony as well. 

The court does have discretion in handing down sentences due to the circumstances of the arrest. However, the term of imprisonment cannot exceed six months, and time spent in residential treatment facilities for drug or alcohol abuse can be credited towards the sentence. Some circumstances may also include a sentence of probation but the total time of imprisonment and probation cannot exceed one year. An attorney experienced in handling DUI charges in Florida can help drivers charged with a DUI manage and mitigate sentences that fall into the areas where the court’s discretion could apply.

License Reinstatement Is a Separate Process from Court and Has Important Deadlines

In addition to fines and potential imprisonment, a DUI charge may also suspend or revoke a driver’s license. How long a driver’s license can be suspended depends on several circumstances, including whether the driver refused a breathalizer test during the arrest. 

To reinstate a revoked license, some drivers may need to complete DUI education or go through drug and alcohol treatment. Some drivers may be able to apply for a hardship license. A hardship license request must be filed with an administrative office and is separate from the DUI court case. 

There are important deadlines that cannot be missed. Most importantly, if a driver does not request a court hearing within ten days of their arrest, their license could be suspended for over a year or more. Additionally, failure to complete the education within the 90-day time period can result in the cancelation of a reinstated driver’s license. People seeking either hardship reinstatement or return to full license privileges could benefit from enlisting a Florida DUI attorney to advocate for them in an administrative review hearing. 

An Experienced Florida Attorney Can Help You Handle DUI Charges

A DUI charge is a serious matter that should not be handled without assistance from an attorney. Beyond license revocation, imprisonment, and fines, a DUI conviction will be a matter of public record and could effect future employment. If you were wrongfully charged or if your charges include agrivating factors the risk of trying to handle your DUI charges on your own may be too great. A Florida DUI lawyer could help you find the best resolution to your charges. Call the Platinum Criminal Defense Law Frim today to gain help from a skilled legal professional.